Frequently Asked Questions
Can I burn my brush whenever I want? Do I need to do anything prior?
Burning Laws in Brief
- No burning until after 4:00 p.m. February 15 through April 30 of each year, if the fire is in or within 300 feet of woodland, brushland or field containing dry grass or other flammable material.
- Fire shall not be left unattended if within 150 feet of woodland, brushland or fields containing dry grass.
- No new fires set or fuel added after midnight.
- Law applies to campfires, warming fires, brush piles, leaves, household trash, stumps, fields of broomstraw and brush or anything capable of spreading fire.
- The law provides for a penalty of up to $500, plus payment of court costs and fire suppression costs if the fire escapes.
Prior to starting a controlled burn, you should contact the Culpeper County E911 Center on the non-emergency line (540.727.7900) to let them know that you are starting a controlled burn. This will prevent the unnecessary dispatch of Fire and EMS personnel.
Here are some Fire Safety Tips:
- Contact your local fire department or Virginia Department of Forestry office.
- Beware of power lines, trees and structures.
- Clear all flammable materials, such as dry leaves and dry grass, from around the fire.
- Have water and hand tools, such as a shovel and/or rake, available.
- Have communication available or have someone nearby who can call for help in case of an emergency.
- Burn when the humidity is high and the wind is calm.
- Burn between 4:00 p.m. and midnight.
The 4 PM Burning Law is in effect from February 15 through April 30.
- Stay with the fire until it is completely out.
For more information, please refer to the Virginia Department of Forestry Outdoor Fire Laws Page.
I have a large pool, will the fire department fill it up? How much does it cost?
Based on your location, the availability of staff, equipment, water regulations and other factors, we will bring a maximum of two loads (around 3500 gallons) of water to your house. We ask that you contact the fire department that is in your first due and/or a water hauling distributor prior to contacting us. We perform this as a public service; however, we do ask for a donation to offset the expense of fuel and maintenance of the vehicles. Regardless, you are helping your local fire department and it's tax deductible based on Topic 506 on the IRS website.
B B Umberger & Son Inc perform water hauling (540.825.1597)
What is the age limit for becoming a fire fighter? Is my child safe?
In order to join the department, you must be at least 16 years old although, at the age of 11, you can join the auxiliary as a junior member. Once you reach the age of 16, you can join either the fire department or the auxiliary as an active member.
As an active member of the department, you or your child will have the opportunity to receive FF1/FF2 Certification. Members under the age of 18 will NOT be allowed to enter a burning structure. Junior members are utilized on the fire grounds to retrieve tools, exchange cylinders, hoist ladders, etc. Junior members are allowed at auto accidents and are often utilized for traffic control after receiving proper training. If this is something that is uncomfortable for you and/or your child, you can request they not be allowed to do so. Junior members are also required to maintain good standings at school. At any point, if a junior does not perform well at school or the parent/guardian has concerns, they will be placed on probation and will not be allowed to participate in calls.